Don Campau
Don Campau
  • Followers 0
  • Following 0
  • Updates 0
Lonely Whistle

Don's label has a catalog of recent works as well as a growing roster of independent artists w...

No Pigeonholes

Don's longrunning radio show on KKUP Cupertino and Radio Marabu across Europe.

No Pigeonholes EXP

An experimental music radio show.



Don Campau - Pinata Party

By home, 2021-05-04
Don Campau - Pinata Party



A two tape set featuring Don Campau, Greg Gray, Ken Clinger, Dino DiMuro, James Hill, Mark Hanley, Nicole, Kevin and Caity Campau, Brian Conroy, Allen Dancer, John Hayden, Poindexter Holloway. Art work by Peter Blind. Cover design by Douglas Cruikshank Don Campau ( vocals, guitar, bass, keyboards, percussion, harmonica, assorted instruments) on most tracks with additional personnel noted below. Tape one: 1. Pinata Party: Kevin Campau ( introduction),Greg Gray (drums) 2. Stupid Stinkin Day: with Kevin Campau 3. Messalina: with John Hayden (percussion, assorted instruments), James Hill ( trumpet) 4. Doing A Show: by Nicole Campau 5. Whats The Reason: with Dino DiMuro ( guitar, banjo, vocals) 6. Dinga La Te: turntables by Campau 7. Tug: by Nicole Campau 8. Dont Hold Back: Greg Gray ( drums) 9. Joey Roo Goes Dancing: Ken Clinger ( vocals, keyboards) 10. Free Again: Dino DiMuro ( vocals, guitar, banjo ) 11. Glass Full Of Water: solo Campau 12. Thai Stick Orchestra: Campau with pre-recorded Thai orchestra 13. Man Is: Nicole Campau 14. Already Quiet: Campau solo 15. Before The Neighbors: Greg Gray ( keyboards, drums), James Hill ( trumpet) 16. Life With Mary Mayhem: Ken Clinger ( vocals, keyboards) 17. Parking In The Backlot : Poindexter Holloway ( vocals, ), Dino DiMuro ( guitar) 18. Mystery Of The Hemphill: James Hill ( trumpet) 19. His Sisters Feet: Ken Clinger ( keyboards) 20. Gobble Gobble: Kevin Campau 21. Break The Birdie: Allen Dancer ( drums) 22. Donât Let The Music Stop: Nicole Campau 23. Until It Turns Red: Greg Gray ( drums ) 24. Bulgarian Indigestion: Ken Clinger ( vocals, keyboards) 25. What A Mess: Ken Clinger ( vocal ) 26. Your Constant Paradox : Campau solo with Kevin Campau at the start and end. 27. Confetti: James Hill ( trumpet) Tape two: 1. The Perfect Tomato: Ken Clinger ( vocals) 2. Yuppie In His Audi: Mark Hanley ( lead guitar), Greg Gray ( drums) 3. Doing A Show: Nicole Campau 4. Megans Morning: Dino DiMuro ( guitar, keys, banjo) 5. Like Somebody Else: Campau solo 6. Sinkhole: Campau solo 7. Promise Dollars: Nicole Campau ( vocals), Dino DiMuro ( guitar, keys, banjo) 8. Go Navy: Brian Conroy ( rhythm guitar ) 9. You Can Relax : Greg Gray ( drums) 10. Irreversible Moment: James Hill ( trumpet) 11. Daddy: Caity Campau ( vocal, keyboards, percussion), Greg Gray ( slide guitar) 12. Gamma Rays: Campau solo 13. Everything Becomes Nothing: Ken Clinger ( keyboards) 14. Woman Was A Man : James Hill ( trumpet) 15. Bells Behind The Machinery : James Hill ( trumpet) 16. Midnight In Suburbia : James Hill ( trumpet) Produced in San Jose, CA by Don Campau by live and mail collaboration

Tell us what you think about this artist and album.
If this is your album, please share your thoughts about making it.

Released on cassette.

Visit Lonely Whistle Music

Posted in: Review | 0 comments

Don Campau - Interim Assignment

By home, 2016-08-02
Don Campau - Interim Assignment

13 songs more or less in a rock style by Don Campau. Ably assisted by Greg Gray, Russ Stedman, Al Perry, Ken Clinger, Robin O'Brien, Skot Stickler and Bryan Baker. This is a collection of B Sides, outtakes, one off collaborations, instrumentals and misfit songs that didn't fit onto other releases.

Each cover is handmade on special paper imported from Thailand. Domestic shipping is free and included in $7 price. Please write  for international shipping costs.
Mastered by Blair Hardman at Zone Recording in Cotati California. Produced by Don Campau at home in Santa Rosa California.

Posted in: Review | 0 comments

Don Campau | Mixed Messages

By home, 2015-01-31
Don Campau | Mixed Messages

originally released on cassette in 1991

  1.  it didnt matter: with eric muhs, drums, synth, lyrics, vocals
  2. no one knows: with john and peter hinds, production and rums
  3. the verdict is in: with lord litter, guitars, bass, drums
  4. tape a message: with lord litter, keys, bass, drums
  5. my intuition: with peggy martinez, vocals
  6. ive got a policy: with lord litter, guitars, bass, drums
  7. seven good examples: with eric muhs, bass drums, lyrics, production
  8. spin on the wheel: don solo
  9. dont play with matches: with lord litter,guitars, bass, keys, drums
  10. i came from outer space: with lord litter, vocals, bass, lyrics, production
  11. new set of rules: with lord litter, guitars, bass, drums
  12. i wont fear love: don solo
  13. franny spencer: with dino dimuro, vocals, guitar, lyrics
  14. everything i do is wrong: with lord litter, guitars, bass, drums
  15. promise to be there: with eric muhs, bass, production; greg gray, drums
  16. all ive got is music: with eric muhs, lead guitar, bass; greg tray, drums

don campau: vocals, lyrics, guitars, bass, keyboards

lonely whistle music 1991


Campau has been active in the cassette network for a long time, which means he's had ample opportunity to take many musical turns. It also means he's made some frindships along the way with other home recording artists. Those of you familiar with the scene will recognize the names of people Don collaborated with on this tape. Lord Litter, Eric Muhs, Dino DiMuro, Peter and John Hinds and Greg Gray all contribute heavily to the songs here. And, not surprisingly, given the fact that all of the above (with the exception of vocalist Peggy Martinez and drummers Gray and Peter Hinds) are outstanding guitarists, this is a tape of guitar-oriented cuts. Some of 'em are just all-out jams, while others are rockin' songs with riffs a'plenty. The styles are varied too. DiMuro's compositional, almost classical style; Muhs' sonicly experimental playing, Hinds' intense free-form and Litter's cowpoke/space/jazz odessey are brought together to make a tape that remains as helplessly disparate as the differing styles assembled, yet never falls apart — in fact it's quite a wild and highly recommended ride. This is the the kind of tape that inspires home recording artists to get out of the home and play with other people, do some basement jamming, see what the other person can bring out in you. -- Bryan Baker (GAJOOB 6/30/1992)

Posted in: Review | 0 comments

Don Campau | Moldable Head

By home, 2015-01-31
Don Campau | Moldable Head

Posted in: Review | 0 comments